Teams confirmed to go to the Club World Cup in the USA 2025

The FIFA confirmed that the headquarters of the Club World Cup 2025 will be in the United States and that the first international 32-team tournament will be held from June 15 to July 13, one year before the World Cup to be played in the United States, Mexico and Canada.

The next World Cup will have 12 European teams, which will allow the participation of some teams that have not won the Champions League

Atlético de Madrid was the last team to get a ticket to the World Cup.

Los Colchoneros and Barcelona were fighting for a place in the new tournament: those led by Diego Simeone started with a minimal advantage to snatch the place from Barça, with just 6 points. To be in the World Cup, the Blaugranas needed Atlético to lose to Dortmund or, on the other hand, go to the semi-finals and reach the final at Wembley. At stake for both clubs, an amount of €50 million, the minimum amount that all clubs participating in the intercontinental tournament will receive.

Although both clubs were eliminated from the Champions League, Atlético conceded fewer goals than the Catalan team.

It will be the first time that the rojiblancos participate in this competition, which until now was only contested by the continental champions. The new format increases the number of teams, from the current 7, to the 32 that the next edition will have. It is not the only change that the competition will undergo, which will be held every four years.

Gianni Infantinopresident of FIFA, officially welcomed the Colchonero team to the tournament that will be held next year in the United States with a new format.

Congratulations on your qualification for the new FIFA Club World Cup, Club Atlético de Madrid. Despite the elimination in the Champions League, Atlético de Madrid is classified through the ranking as the second Spanish representative by six points ahead of the Barcelona in the classification,” Infantino noted on Instagram.

Along with Atlético, the real Madrid It is the other Spanish team qualified for this competition.

UEFA teams qualified for the Club World Cup

The teams classified as champions of the Champions League are Chelsea, Real Madrid and Manchester City, waiting for whoever is declared the winner of this edition. The teams classified by ranking are Bayern Munich (3), PSG (4), Inter Milan (6), Borussia Dortmund (8), Porto (9), Atlético de Madrid ( 10), Benfica (13), Juventus (14) and RedBull Salzburg (18).

This list is surprising because some of the teams that will participate in this competition are not among the top twelve, this is due to the rule that prevents more than two teams from the same country from participating.

Teams from the other confederations

Four teams from the Asian Football Confederation will participate, of which there are three teams already classified: Al Hilal, Ulsan and Urawa Reds. Of the four of the African Confederation there are already two insured: Al Alhy of Egypt and Wydad Athletic of Morocco. On the part of the Concacaf two Mexicans, Monterrey and Club León and one American, the Seattle Sounders, They will participate. Of the Conmebol the last three champions will surely be part, all Brazilians, Palmeiras, Flamengo and Fluminese. Of Oceania will participate Auckland Citywhich has been doing so in the latest editions.